How can I remove my iPhone 5?

Prepare an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch for sale, give away, or trade-in

Use these steps to transfer information to your new device and then remove your personal information from your old device.

Before you sell, give away or trade in your device, you should first transfer information to your new device and then remove your personal data from your old device.

You shouldn't manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos, or other iCloud data while you are signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID. This would also delete the content from the iCloud servers and all other devices that you are signed into to iCloud with.

You still have the iPhone, iPad or iPod touch

Follow these steps to transfer information to your new device and then remove your personal information from your old device.

Transfer information to your new device

If you have a new iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, you can use the Quick Start feature to automatically transfer information from your old device to your new device if you're using iOS 11 or later. If you're using iOS 10 or earlier, use iCloud, iTunes, or the Finder to transfer information to your new device.

If your phone number changes with your new device, add additional trusted phone numbers to your account to make sure you don't lose access. If you no longer have access to your old phone number, you can generate a code for two-factor authentication on your old device if necessary.

Remove your personal information from your old device

  1. If you have paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your device.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and iTunes & App Store.
    • If you're using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings> [Your Name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Deactivate.
    • If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings> iCloud> Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again. Then tap Erase From [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Go to Settings> iTunes & App Store> Apple ID> Sign Out.
  4. Return to Settings and tap General> Reset> Erase All Contents & Settings. If you've turned on Find My [device], you may need to enter your Apple ID and password. Forgot your Apple ID or Apple ID password?
  5. If asked for your device code or restriction code, enter it. Then tap on "Delete [device]".
  6. If you switch to a third-party phone, sign out of iMessage.
  7. Contact your wireless service provider for assistance transferring services to a new owner. They can help you transfer services to the new owner even if you are using your device without a SIM card.
  8. Remove your old device from your list of trusted devices.

If you erase your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, Find My [device] and Activation Lock will be turned off.

You no longer have your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

If you didn't follow the steps above and you no longer own the device, do the following:

  1. Ask the new owner to delete all content and settings as described above.
  2. If you're using iCloud and Find My [device] on your device, sign in to iCloud.com/find or the Find My app on another device, select the device, then click Delete ". After deleting the device, click "Remove from Account".
  3. If you can't do any of the above, you should change your Apple ID password. This will not delete the personal information stored on your old device, but it will prevent the new owner from deleting your information from iCloud.
  4. If you switch to a third-party phone, sign out of iMessage.
  5. If you're using Apple Pay, you can remove your credit or debit cards at iCloud.com. To see which devices use Apple Pay, choose Account Settings, then click the device. Next to Apple Pay, click Remove.
  6. Remove your old device from your list of trusted devices.

Tapping "Erase All Content & Settings" will completely erase your device - including all Apple Pay credit and debit cards, photos, contacts, music, and apps. iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center and other services will also be disabled. Erasing your device won't erase your content from iCloud.

Release date: