Deletes the archiving of Switch games saved data

Here's how to free up space on the internal storage of your Nintendo Switch

The Nintendo Switch comes with a meager 32GB of storage. You can expand your storage with an SD card, but that's still pretty low on your console space. There are various options for freeing up the internal storage space or at least transferring some of this data to an SD card.

By default, if you have an SD card installed in your Switch, the console will automatically save downloaded games and screenshots until it is full. If you've used your console without an SD card or don't have one, you may need to clean up the house from time to time.

There are two ways to delete games on the Switch. You can either delete them, which will take all of your game data with you, or you can "archive" them. When you archive a game, all game data is erased (which takes up most of the space on your console), but the game remains where it is. This way, you don't have to start over if you download the game again in the future.

This is important because Your game saves are only saved on your console. Nintendo won't sync your game stores, you can't back them up or even copy them to your SD card. If you delete a game from your console, your game save is lost forever. So if you haven't played yet Breath of the wild for a bit and want to delete it to make room for something else, archive it instead. Because of this, we almost always recommend archiving games instead of deleting them if you ever want to come back to them.

If you have a game installed on your Switch, you will also need to archive it to transfer it to your SD card. First, insert your SD card and then archive the game you want to move. Download the game from the eStore and it will be installed on the SD card by default.

To archive a game, select it on your home screen and press either the + or - buttons on your controller.

This opens an options menu. Scroll down to Manage Software and select Archive Software. When you're 100% sure that you'll never play a game again and want to free up a little more space, choose Erase Software. But again There is no way to get your saved games back if you delete the game from your console.

You can also see which games are taking up the most space and uninstall them, as well as manage other data hogs like screenshots in the Settings menu. First, select Settings from the home screen.

Scroll down to Data Management. Select Manage software here.

On this screen you will see a list of your games sorted according to how much space you have on your console. Select one of the games and you can either archive it or delete it.

Back on the data management screen, you also have another option called Manage Data / Screenshots.

In this menu you can either select "Delete data" or "Manage screenshots". We'll start with "Erase Data".

This screen lists all of the games that you have saved data for and the amount of space those games are consuming. Select a game to delete some saved games.

If you have saved from multiple player profiles, you can delete them one by one on this screen. This is especially useful if you let someone else use your console but they no longer play. Remember, if you delete game data from here, it can never be recovered.

In the "Manage Screenshots" menu you will find a number of different options. You can change the default location for your screenshots (if you insert an SD card this should be the default location, but if you prefer to save screenshots to your internal storage, you can change that). Copy your screenshots from one location to another. or delete all of your screenshots at once. If you select "Manage Individual Pictures" you will be taken to the Albums app, where you can browse screenshots, delete only certain photos, or even share them on Facebook and Twitter.

For the most part, game downloads will take up most of the space on your console, but you can archive the games without losing any of your saved data. After you've finished a game for a while, just archive it and keep your game saves. Between those two steps, you can get by with 32GB of internal storage if you let the screenshot button off a bit.